The Shorty Awards

Decrease Font Size Increase Font Size Text Size Print This Page

“What happens on social media can change the world, create new stars and ignite global movements!” – The Shorty Awards

tyler oakley

One of social media’s shining stars Tyler Oakley

The Shorty Awards, also known as the Shortys, are an annual awards ceremony ‘honouring the best on social media’. They recognise the top influencers, brands and organisations on Facebook, Twitter, YouTube, Tumblr, Instagram, Snapchat, Vine and more. Past winners include; Tyler Oakley, Malala Yousafzai, Jenna Marbles, Pewdiepie, Smosh, NASA, Neil Patrick Harris and Bill Nye (The Science Guy!).

The awards ceremony will be held in New York City for the eighth year running. It will be held April 2016 and will of course be live streamed globally.

shorty award

Some of the social media A-listers will be trying to bag one of these!

There are two main categories of the Shorty Awards: the Influencer and the Brands & Organisations category. The entrants include:

Arts and Entertainment: Ryan Reynolds, Cara Delavigne, Masie Williams and Kevin Hart.

Team Internet: Emma Blackery, Honest Trailers, Pewdiepie and Zoella.

Tech and Innovation; Epic Rap Battles of History, Markiplier, The Game Theorists, Jacksepticeye, LDShadowlady, The Yogscast, VSauce and How To Basic. By Overall Presence: GameDayPlus and San Diego Zoo Tumblr Blog.

If you would like to vote for your favourite presence on the media please visit and get casting your votes.

Katie, Year 9

Walton Girls’ YJA Newsroom